top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Papillon

A girl’s experience suffering from body shaming

I was a few weeks into a new semester of secondary school. At that time, it just started out as being mindful about losing weight because mine then was 57 kilograms. As a 6th grade student, I was called “a fat lady” or “piggy piggy”. Others would say it is forgivable and shouldn’t be a big deal as we were still immature and arbitrary. Yet the way they named it hurt me so badly and drastically ruined my sixth-grade studying process. Here’s the thing.


Among the girls, the biggest insecurity is probably what their body looks like. This problem not only attracts tons of criticism from external viewpoints but also causes a domino effect on girls’ assessment of themselves. There are a lot of people out there who advertise having a larger butt or larger breasts and a tiny skinny waist. For that reason, humans name us “women” as a “beauty gender”. Meanwhile, our appearance must be well-shaped and proportional unlike males and other sexes as well as our treat to our body. The big deal is: “Why do we spend too high expectations on a girl's body rather than a boy? When I look overweight or too skinny or big, tall… over pattern generally, it will immediately get negative scrutiny from the other gender and even their own judgment.” The truth is, in the period of me being obese and too tall at grade 6, I hardly hung out with friends and wore long loose black pants regularly. What’s more, I was by far the tallest girl in the class, even taller than a lot of boys so I always bow down or just sit not stand, trying to be slouch so I was shorter. Did all that work? Obviously no. The more we hide the more people notice and it becomes your terrible concern.


The world would say all sorts of things to me, it is really hurtful but just blush it off. It’s always put into people’s heads that you wear two-piece when you go to the beach or you know if you’re fat then you wear a one-piece. That’s totally not true. I do have curves and I do have parts of my body that I’m not ashamed of so I do wear two-piece and if people don’t like it then look away, sorry. If girls think that there’s only one standard beauty, they’ll feel left out. If people like them are included in that dialogue so there’s more representation then you won’t feel that you need to change yourself in order to conform to society’s beauty standards. I am who I am.

Copyright ©The Papillon

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page